Pico Grande,Madeira.

2nd February 2013.

It was a nice sunny day and I was looking forward to this but it all fell to pieces when the clutch cable snapped on the hire car.If you have ever seen the roads on Madeira then the fact that this particular part failed will come as no surprise to you πŸ™‚

The hire company,Rodavante,were on the scene with a new car within the hour even though I was in the middle of nowhere up near the start of the path.All would have been fine if only I had possession of the relevant documents.As they were lying in the hotel I had to go all the way back to Canico de Baixo and by the time all the paperwork had been sorted out at their office it was too late for the hill.Instead I went up to the Nuns Valley and took some pictures of Pico Grande πŸ™‚

View down on Curral das Freiras from the road up the valley.You can see the old road at the bottom right of the pic about a quarter of the way up the cliff face.

Curral das Freiras

Curral das Freiras and the Nuns Valley

There are some wild and brilliant roads on the island some of which you can see at the bottom of this pic.If you lived in some of these houses and tripped over your back door step you may well die πŸ™‚

steep roads

Death awaits at the back door.

Pico Grande from the roadside above Curral das Freiras.Looks like some sort of red hot poker in front but if you know for definite then let me know.

 

Pico Grande,Madeira

Pico Grande,Madeira

A closer look at Pico Grande.

P1060562

I`d read before I went that it was the only summit that required a bit of scrambling making use of a line of bolts.I can assure you in the next post that there is another one that requires climbing πŸ™‚

A much closer look at the summit block.

 

Pico Grande summit block.

Pico Grande summit block.

Finally,a bonus pic of the Penha d`Aguia on the north coast.

penha d'Γ‘guia madeira

Penha d’Aguia

This entry was posted in Outwith Scotland and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pico Grande,Madeira.

  1. McEff says:

    Alex, I’ve just got back from a bad night at work but you’ve cheered me up no end. That was a great read. Sorry about the inconvenience of the clutch cable snapping, but I suppose these things happen.
    We never got to the Nuns Valley. It looks a spectacular place. And if it’s any consolation, I came unstuck before reaching the top of Pico Grande so I shall read the next post with interest.
    All the best, Alen

  2. So, do you need the line of bolts to get up that rocky summit tor or for the general route up there? And does that mean you have to take a rope presumably?

    Spectacular scenery but don’t think I’d love those roads at all. Usually when I’m in transport doing those kind of roads, I get out and walk!

    And I’m surprised at some cars still having clutch cables? Though they were all hydraulic now? My Cortina clutch cable snapped at work once – was fun driving home! Luckily the gear box is brilliant and I can double-de clutch anyway (like you used to on old non synchro-mesh gearboxes). My even older Cortina (Mk II) had an even better problem… my Mum borrowed it one day and just brought back my snapped gear lever! πŸ˜‰
    Carol.

  3. Wendy Cheung says:

    Hello, I am Wendy, a girl from Hong Kong which is a small part of China. I have a friend, he is suffering the illness of leg, so I just wanna give him some support, he saw a movie in Hong Kong, in the movie, there are some view of the Northern part in Scoland. In the Orkney Island, there are pillar called the “Old Man of Stoer” My friend love the “Old Man of Stoer”
    very much, so can you give me a hand for me?? Just buy a find a postcardcard of “Old Man of Stoer”, write some greetings words for him and send it from Scotland to Hong Kong to him, I just need one postcard for supporting my friend and I can swap a set of Hong Kong postcards, a set of stamps, banknotes, coins…. or anything you want or request is okay but I just request a postcard of “Old Man of Stoer” in Scotland. Please do me a favor for me or for transferring the love and caring to people. If you like to help, please send me a email, then you can show you the picture of “Old Man of Stoer” pillar or postcard. Hope to hear your good news and give me the surprise and support to my friend. Good health and all the best for you. Finally, my email is: chipsymoo@yahoo.com.hk

    P.S If you can’t find the postcard of”Old Man of Stoer” pillar, you can send some pictures of “Old Man of Stoer” pillar and some view of Orkney Island which is taken by you or ask your friends who are living in Orkney Island to take some amazing photos, besides, I have got the website which have a lot of amazing photo of Orkney Island and the “Old Man of Stoer”, you can download and save it and then it becomes a photo then send the photos in envelope to him with few written greatting sentence and notes. So please give me a hand to me can make a surprise for my friend who is suffering the illness of leg, looking forward to your good new!!

Leave a Reply

