Ciste Buide a`Claidheimh.

16th December 2012.

Last post was a bit pic heavy.This one isn`t πŸ™‚ I usually only blog days when I get the opportunity to get a few half decent pics but just to show you that I do go out sometimes when common sense dictates otherwise here`s some pics from a few days ago.

Graeme called to say that himself and Gordon the Quiz were going out for a walk somewhere in the Loch Tay area.I hadn`t seen Gordon for a few years so John B. and I went along for a catch up with him. On the drive up through the Trossachs the weather kept threatening to improve with the odd glimpse of blue sky making an appearance above.In the event it never got any better but it didn`t really matter as we enjoyed chatting all the way up and the weather wasn`t really noticed.

John disappeared at the start heading off to Creagan na Beinne leaving the three of us to wander up the landrover track onto the plateau.The “highlight” of the day was this huge landslip on the eastern edge of the summit ridge..

Landslip.

Landslip.

From there it wasn`t too far until the summit loomed large over us πŸ™‚

Ciste Buide a`Chlaidheimh.

Ciste Buide a`Chlaidheimh.

Headed down the southern ridge to escape the wind and rain and onto the land rover track leading back north to the car.

Dunan bothy from the track.

Dunan bothy.

Dunan bothy.

It had been a dawdling along hands in pocketsΒ  sort of day and on reaching the car we found John had been waiting for almost an hour.As a way of penance we offered to take him to the Falls of Dochart Inn for a pint and a seat in front of the fire πŸ™‚ The Falls themselves were in fine fettle due to all the snowmelt of the past few days ..

Falls of Dochart.

Falls of Dochart.

It was a pleasure to meet up with Gordon again as we had spent many days together rock climbing in the past.Some of my hardest climbs were done in his company because he never objected when I wangled it so that he got to lead the hard pitches πŸ™‚ Off the top of my head we done Centurion on Ben Nevis,King Rat on Creag an Dubh Loch,the Souter sea stack,Wreckers Slab,the old Tom Patey route in north Devon,Swastika on the Etive slabs….memories πŸ™‚ Might as well bung a few antiquated sunny prints up to compensate for the preceding gloom.

Gordon on the second quartz band of Swastika on the Etive Slabs.

Swastika.

Swastika.

Gordon leading the overhangs on pitch six of Centurion on Ben Nevis.

Centurion,Brn Nevis.

Centurion,Brn Nevis.

The 440 foot sea cliff in Devon which Wreckers Slab goes up.

Wreckers Slab

Wreckers Slab

Trying to make the first ascent of an old railway pillar near my house.It was eventually bolted about 20 years after this.

Being old skool we only used natural runners in the cracks although I do recall having “a rest” or two on the rope πŸ™‚

Railway pillar

Railway pillar

Gordon on Big Top in Glencoe.

Big top

Big Top,Glencoe.

Well,that was a nice wee wander down memory lane πŸ™‚ Back to Knoydart for the next entry….

This entry was posted in Grahams and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ciste Buide a`Claidheimh.

  1. Hi Alex, Really nice to see some old climbers – sorry, old climbing shots πŸ˜‰

    That railway pillar’s great – you say ‘trying to make a first ascent’ – did you not get all the way up it?

    Didn’t know you guys had been as far down as Devon for the climbing… I’ve got my eye on some really small limestone climbs around here – see my next post in a couple of days – I think I’ve found the ideal spot for cowardly beginners! πŸ™‚

    • Young and with hair also πŸ™‚ Gordon managed to get to about 10 or 12 feet from the top but the runners were a bit on the dodgy side.It`s now given a bolted French grade of 6c whatever that is πŸ™‚
      We climbed all over the place.Scotland,the Lakes,Wales,the Peak and Cornwall.Once had a weekend trip from Glasgow to Lands End for some climbing.Arrived back in time for work on the Monday morning πŸ™‚

      • Aye – I used to do daft stuff like go the other end of the country for a weekend – I once went to the Hebrides for a weekend – the guys on the ferry (Claymore – they were all my mates) thought I’d gone nuts! I keep thinking I’m a lesser person each time I realise I’m not so impulsive any more 😦

  2. Anonymous says:

    Some great shots of some classics Alex. Re ‘Big Top’, we had the late Robin Smith’s sister-in-law over for dinner a few weeks ago and some years back she let me have Robin’s old note books etc to read. Fascinating stuff.

  3. Gibson says:

    Why am I anonymous Alex?

    • I`ve just spent 25 minutes looking for a solution as to why I can`t comment on blogspot blogs and I`m still none the wiser.Eventually managed one after disabling most of my security settings and allowing third party cookies.Seems like a two way problem between Blogger and WordPress.I managed to comment once on yours using Opera but that failed too the last time.Tell you what,in the meantime post as anonymous and sign your name on the comment and I`ll carry on looking for a solution πŸ™‚

  4. McEff says:

    Great stuff, Alex. I love those old pictures, despite the fact you wouldn’t get me within a rope’s length of anything like that.
    Cheers, Alen

  5. Like the look of that bothy.

Leave a Reply

