Tullich Hill and Beinn Bhreac.

28th April 2012

The luxury of a short drive to the hills 🙂  Gavin,Scott,Millie the dog and myself had a nice wander around a few of the Luss hills today in glorious sunshine.As they are only a forty minute drive away it wouldn`t make sense to do them in anything other than good conditions.In the days before I had a car these hills and the Arrochar Alps were my stomping ground but it seemed like a long time ago since I last paid a visit.Well,I`ve just looked it up and I was last here on 17th October 2009.Time before that was a cracking day on 30th Nov 2008 when I decided on the spur of the moment to leave the house one morning and go up Beinn Chaorach as an inversion looked likely.

Inversion on Beinn Chaorach.

Inversion on Beinn Chaorach.

We parked shortly before Invergroin farm halfway up Glen Douglas and swiftly took to the south east ridge of Tullich Hill.
The swiftly part didn`t last long as one of the party was suffering from a hangover but sympathy was in shorthand and the stricken party had no option other than to grind it out non stop to the summit 🙂

Glen Douglas from halfway up….

Glen Douglas.

Glen Douglas.

Summit of Tullich Hill looking over to the Arrochar Alps.

Tullich Hill summit.

Tullich Hill summit.

We loitered here a while and tossed sticks for the dog when she got bored.  Eventually though we ran out of sticks and had no option but to set forth for Ben Reoch.

Myself walking off the summit.

Arrochar Alps.

Arrochar Alps.

Zoomed view of the Cobbler.

 

The Cobbler.

The Cobbler.

A fairly level section with a few scattered lochans to start with and then a steep descent to the Ant Streang.
Gavin and Scott with Ben Lomond in view.

Gavin and Scott.

Gavin and Scott.

We tried unsuccessfully to get Millie to pose on this rock outcrop but she was more interested in rodent hunting 🙂

Gavin and Millie.

Gavin and Millie.

Approaching the Ant Strang we saw the only other person of the day,a guy from Glasgow doing our round in reverse.

Ant Streang.

Ant Streang.

From here it is a relentlessly steep flog up to Ben Reoch for 1.000 feet but well worth the effort.

Scott and the last snows of winter over the hills to the north.

Last of the winter snow.

Last of the winter snow.

Nearing Beinn Bhreac.

Nearing Beinn Bhreac.

Nearing Beinn Bhreac.

Scott at the top of Beinn Bhreac with the islands of loch lomond laid out below.

Loch Lomond from Beinn Bhreac.

Loch Lomond from Beinn Bhreac.

I`m struggling to keep up with this blog I`m afraid. This month alone,November, I`ve got Achnashellach,Kintail and Lochgoilhead hills to write up and I`m off to Ireland for a weekends bagging in a few days time and then another trip on the last weekend of the month. It`s a hard life but I try not to let it get  me down 🙂

Any pics of myself in the post are courtesy of  Scott.Finally,if anyone out there can figure out what the hell is going on with Gavins hair can they please let me know ?  🙂

Baldy Bain

Baldy Bain

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Grahams and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tullich Hill and Beinn Bhreac.

  1. McEff says:

    It’s a hard life all right. That’s a stunning picture of the inversion, by the way. Makes life worthwhile, that sort of thing. Ireland sounds inviting. I could do with some of that myself.
    Have a good trip.

  2. LOL Poor Gavin! I have to admit it is a rather strange pattern of baldness – poor guy!

    Those hills look really nice. I’ve been thinking that every time I drive past them but will have to wait till I finally finish the Munros I think. I presume they’ll make great winter walking?

    • It is strange Carol.Looks like someone has attached an unwanted pair of gorilla testicles on top of his napper 🙂

      Nice rolling gentle hills but the views are superb over to the Cobbler and down Loch Lomond and the Clyde estuary.I finished the Munros in 1989 and still haven`t run out of good hills to do.!

  3. Oh, and I’m the other way round to you – struggling for things to write about as I’m not going anywhere 😦

Leave a Reply

