Carn Mor, Glen Dessary.

25th March 2012.

The clocks had either gone back or forward the previous evening but in the fuzzy hour before dawn I wasn`t exactly sure which. I stepped over the still sleeping bodies to brew a couple of cups of coffee which gave the sun the time to rise over the glen.Opening the door to a beautiful early morning I headed up the hill leaving the sound of gentle snoring behind.
There is no gentle start to this hill if using the bothy I can tell you.It`s straight up from the off and necessitated a couple of stops “to admire the view” before it levelled out a bit at the 1,900 foot contour.

Above the bothy.

Above the bothy.

The couple of hours after dawn are my favourite time of day on the hills.
Looking over to Sguur nan Coireachan and Sgurr Cos na Breachd-laoidh…

View from the ridge.

View from the ridge.

Like my companions in the bothy the local wildlife was still a bit on the dozy side also.Put up a few drowsy stags and then came across this mountain hare.I followed my friends advice and sat down,staying quite still and talking gently to it and lo and behold did it`s inquisitive nature not get the better of it 🙂

Mountain hare.

Mountain hare.

A couple of views  south of the ridge to the Corryhully horseshoe side….

Across the glen to the south.

Across the glen to the south.

Sgurr nan Coireachan on the Corryhully Horseshoe.

Sgurr nan Coireachan on the Corryhully Horseshoe.

The Sgurr na Ciche ridge to the north….

Sgurr na Ciche Ridge.

Sgurr na Ciche Ridge.

And finally to the summit of Carn Mor…

Carn Mor summit .

Carn Mor summit .

I meandered slowly back down to the bothy, arriving at lunchtime, where Bob was waiting,packed up,and cycled back out to the end of Loch Arkaig in the warm sunshine 🙂

Loch Arkaig.

Loch Arkaig.

A couple of pics from the friend mentioned above….

Baby skunk.

Baby skunk.

An owl lifted the mother and left six baby skunks orphaned.They were hand raised and are now back out doing what skunks do,whatever that is 🙂

Couple of young marmots…

Young marmots.

Young marmots.

This entry was posted in Corbetts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Carn Mor, Glen Dessary.

  1. I’m confused – skunks and marmots in Scotland? Have I missed something?!

  2. Marmots? Must be something to do with Climate Change. Some very fine photographs Alex.

  3. McEff says:

    Hare whispering. That’s a new one. My old father used to say that to catch a hare you had to sneak up behind it and sprinkle salt on its tale. Then when it turned around to lick it off you grabbed its ears. That one looks too near for the salt trick.
    Cheers, Alen

  4. A big awwwww to that hare pic – it’s a beauty. I find that, as well as sitting, keeping still and talking quietly to things, if you look away, they’re almost bound to come right up to you. Of course, with my old Zenith film camera, when I press the shutter, everything for miles around scatters as it echoes off the hillsides.

    Carn Mor’s summit area is really beautiful with all those lochans and rocky bits isn’t it?
    Carol.

  5. Oh yeah – I never knew you were so good looking Alex… until i read Bob’s latest post! 😉

  6. Ken Brown says:

    Oops…I thought the reference to skunks was going to be a sly dig at the other occupants of the bothy – after an evening on the beans and Guinness. But no – real skunks! 😀 I take it the owl that lifted the mother was monstrously huge…and with no sense of smell!

  7. Hi Alex – can I pinch a copy of your hare photo to cheer me up on my work PC?

  8. I`ll send you the original high res version later.Critters with fuzzy ears rock my boat 🙂

Leave a Reply

